Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks with Spinach, Mushrooms and Avocado


Last night, I really outdid myself in the kitchen! For dinner, I made Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks with Spinach, Mushrooms and Avocado. It was easy, quick, delicious and got rave reviews from my fiancé!

A few weeks ago, Rich and I made a trip to Trader Joe’s where we spotted Ahi Tuna Steaks in the freezer aisle. The price was right, so we decided to get them to try something new. After much research, tonight I finally decided to give it a go!

I considered using this recipe for Grilled Citrus Tuna Steak with Avocado and Spinach, this recipe for Ahi Tuna Steaks with Horseradish Butter and this recipe for Horseradish-Crusted Ahi Tuna With Miso Aioli, but decide to create my own.

First things first, I mixed up my sauce.

In the mix went about 2 Tablespoons soy sauce, 1 Tablespoon olive oil, about a Tablespoon both lemon and lime juice, about a Tablespoon of honey, and a dash each of salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, ginger powder. I’m not great at measuring for sauces, I usually just mix until it tastes right and spice to my liking. So I say, if it tastes good by itself, it will taste good on the tuna!

In the future, I think I will marinade the tuna steaks in the sauce before I cook them. Today, I was short on time.

I put a skillet over heat with about 1 Tablespoon of olive oil on medium to heat up while I prepped the tuna. To prepare the tuna steaks for cooking, I sliced the tuna steaks in one inch slices and rubbed them with olive oil (maybe a teaspoon total) and salt and pepper.

The tuna slices went into the hot pan and I seared them for about 2 minutes on each side.

Meanwhile, I did other important things.

Also I cut the avocado. When the tuna steaks were seared on each side but still pink in the middle, I took them out of the pan and set them on plate.

In a small skillet, I heated the sauce over medium high heat.

Meanwhile I cooked the vegetables.

I cooked both the spinach and mushrooms the same way. A drizzle of olive oil in the pan over medium heat, sautéed and seasoned with salt, pepper and garlic powder. The spinach is done when it’s wilted and the mushrooms are done when they are tender. Measurements can be to your liking depending on hunger. I would say I cooked about 3 cups spinach (it cooks down a lot!) and 1 cup mushrooms for the two of us.

Once the vegetables were cooked, my sauce thickened up and was ready to rock!

YUM!

On the plate I layered some of the spinach, mushrooms, tuna slices, avocado and drizzled the sauce over.

Then dinner was served!

I was pretty proud of the meal and treated myself to a treat that Rich brought home for me.

A Fannie May Pixie. Yum!

Leave a Reply

