Stronger, Better, Faster, Harder


As I prep for my glorious PR in the Race to Wrigley on Saturday, I’ve been attempting to do many things to make myself stronger.

These things include:

-Downloading new music to pump myself up (and distract myself): I push myself harder when I have great music. Eye of the Tiger anyone?

-Running more often: duh!


-Running with fast people: this is a no brainer for me. When I have to push myself to keep up, I push myself to run faster! Last week’s long run was a great example of that. (Thanks again to Kim for the picture!)

-Pushing myself to run faster: since I know I can run faster with fast people, I have tried to remind myself that I can run that fast even when I am alone. This worked well on Monday night!

-Cross-training: I run better when I do a lot of cross-training, plus I’ve found I am less sore when I incorporate other activities such as spinning, yoga and walking into my workout routine.

I’m still not great with the “running terms” as I mentioned before when I learned what a Tempo Run was. I would typically say I was well versed in “fitness talk,” but on Tuesday night at my spin class I learned a new term-Tabata Training! I quickly went home and Googled it and found a great definition on Wikipedia. (I know, such a controversial place to get information but I think it’s legit!)

Tabata Training: “A popular regimen based on a 1996 study[2] uses 20 seconds of ultra-intense exercise (at an intensity of about 170% of VO2max) followed by 10 seconds of rest, repeated continuously for 4 minutes (8 cycles). Tabata called this the IE1 protocol.[3] In the original study, athletes using this method trained 4 times per week, plus another day of steady-state training, and obtained gains similar to a group of athletes who did steady state (70% VO2max) training 5 times per week. The steady state group had a higher VO2max at the end (from 52 to 57 ml/kg/min), but the Tabata group had started lower and gained more overall (from 48 to 55 ml/kg/min). Also, only the Tabata group had gained anaerobic capacity benefits.”

In my spin class, we did Tabata Training in four minute sets. I think we did about three sets but to be honest with you, my legs were burning so much I lost track. I loved it! I definitely think this is something I could apply to my running.

These are just a few of the things I am doing to make myself a better runner! What do you do to make yourself stronger, better, faster and harder? Have you heard of Tabata Training? Do you do any other type of interval training to improve your running? Please share with me! 

6 responses to “Stronger, Better, Faster, Harder

  1. I have started doing interval running. There is a park by my house that has a good circle, it is less than a block. I run one length slow, sprint two lengths, walk the last length. Repeat about 6 – 10 times. It has helped me. Also doing one long run a week has helped. I have cut about 1 minute off my pace since this time last year. Good luck Saturday!!

  2. Good luck at Wrigley! You will kill it!

  3. My friend Erin does Tabata training on her bike Or, was, anyway. It seems really intense!!! I am running with faster people to be a better runner too. And strength training. Boy, does that ever help!

    Is your title a Daft Punk reference?

Leave a Reply

