Rich’s Race to Wrigley


As promised, here is my fiancé Rich’s race recap of his first 5K! I am very proud of him and so glad he had so much fun!!! :)

Katie outside the stadium behind Home Plate.

I ran my first 5k today. I had two goals. To finish and to run the whole thing without stopping. I accomplished both in a time of 41:01. I started out a little quick because I snuck in the side of the chute with Katie at the 10 minute pacers. That is by far beyond my speed.

I saw Katie at the starting line and then I didn’t see her in awhile. By 2.5 we were turning around at the red line crossing at Graceland Cemetery when I happened upon a younger woman running with what appeared to be her father. I am guessing about 72. He definitely looked like he was doing this for his first time too and I think he was wearing gardening gloves. He slowed down to walk for a few seconds and she told him it was only a little farther. I joked that there was a detour and we had to go back the two miles we came, but then I told him we were less than a quarter mile to go. He slowed down a couple times to walk but he always began running eventually after a minute or two. I know because even thought I was running the whole time I paced this man to the finish line. Go Cubbies.

4 responses to “Rich’s Race to Wrigley

  1. runnerandteacher

    Congrats!! Are you hooked now? :-)

  2. Yay! Go Rich! Wtg on running the whole thing! :)

Leave a Reply

