Spicy Steak with Polenta


It’s been awhile since I posted a recipe! It’s not that I haven’t been cooking, it’s just that I make the same things all the time. Last night I made one of my go-to recipes that I have never posted before, so I knew I needed to share! I’m surprised I have never posted this recipe before because it’s so great. It’s everything I look for in a recipe-cheap (if you get the steak on sale), sturdy, spicy, quick and delicious! (not to be confused with the things I look for in a man!)

Spicy Steak with Polenta

20120418-120908.jpg

You will need:
1/2 lb Flank Steak, cut into strips
1/2 cup red bell pepper, chopped
1/4 cup red onion, chopped
1 jalapeño, chopped
1/2 cup of frozen corn, thawed
Polenta in a tube (use half)
Salt and Pepper
Chili Powder (maybe a Tablespoon total?)
2 Tablespoons fresh Cilantro (I was out, so I used dried-not as good as when I use fresh!)

Now let’s get cooking!

20120418-120917.jpg

Step one: Preheat your oven to 350 degree broil while you chop your veggies, once the veggies are chopped, slice half of the Polenta tube into four slices and place on a greased (with cooking spray) cookie sheet, place in oven on top rack. Each side will take about 3-5 minutes and will be a darker yellow color, flip halfway through.

20120418-120927.jpg

Step Two: Season flank steak with salt, pepper and Chili powder. I’m not a measurer, but I would say to use around 1 Tablespoon of Chili powder, until the entire amount of steak is seasoned

20120418-120934.jpg

Step Three: Spray a skillet with cooking spray and cook Flank Steak on high until cooked throughly (it will probably take about 2 minutes for each side, it cooks fast!)

20120418-120942.jpg

Set cooked flank steak on a plate on the side. This would be a good time to flip your Polenta!

20120418-120949.jpg

Step Four: Use the same skillet and spray it with cooking spray, bring to medium heat and cook the onion, red pepper, jalapeño and  corn until the onion is translucent and the two peppers are cooked thoroughly

20120418-120957.jpg

Mid way through, season the veggies with salt, pepper and Chili powder

20120418-121005.jpg

Step Five: Remove veggies from heat and stir in Cilantro

20120418-121024.jpg

Step Six: Take the Polenta out of oven and place 2 slices on each plate, followed by half of the steak and then topped with half the veggie mixture on each plate

Then you are done! Enjoy!

4 responses to “Spicy Steak with Polenta

  1. Yum-o-rama! Brian would love this. Zachary probably would, too! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’m visiting Kevin in ND this week and I am totally gonna try this sometime this week!

Leave a Reply

