Ten Mile Saturday


This morning I completed my long run of ten miles! My intention was to get up and run early to beat the heat. But, then I stayed up a little later than planned and felt like sleeping in until 8:30. I lounged for a bit, drank a cup of coffee and fueled with a honey stinger gel right before I left and finally got going after 10:00.

image

Foggy view of Downtown

image

The beginning of the run was easy. I had a ton of energy and the miles were going fast. But, I left myself go too fast and burned myself out a bit. So I took a water break and ate 5 Honey Stinger chews at 4.5 miles in.

image

And I took some more pictures…imageI said hi to Navy Pier! Then I turned around and headed home. 

image

I have to admit, running by myself is a little boring. So I sent a few texts, called Rich to update him on my status and checked out the sights. At mile 7.5 a beer was sounding pretty good. At mile 8, I was not tired at all so I decided to push myself so I ran my 9th mile in 10:14. I finished in 2:17:09 with an average pace of 13:43. Not too shabby for the amount of water breaks I took!

image

Now for that beer! Have a great weekend everyone!

3 responses to “Ten Mile Saturday

  1. Great job! Keep up the good work.

  2. Maybe I should move there and run with you so our runs aren’t so boring 🙂

Leave a Reply

