Chasing Perfection


Earlier today I posted a great quote from Vince Lombardi about perfection. The more I thought about it, the more this quote made sense to me. I am the type of person that is always chasing perfection-with my marathon training, in school, at work, in relationships, whatever I do, I want it to be perfect. This is just the way I was raised. As a kid, I hated the pressure of living up to expectations but looking back, my parents did a great job of raising someone with a great work ethic. Of course, I was taught that mistakes are ok as long as you learn from your mistakes and have a sense of humor while doing so. In the end, all that matters is you keep working hard and doing your best. This has been my goal in marathon training and my goal in life.

So far this week, I haven’t brought myself to write about Sunday’s long run. Mainly because, quite frankly, it was nothing to brag about. But, it was part of this training process and after finding that quote today, I am ready to write about it.

Last week on our training plan, Denise and I were schedule to do fourteen miles. After our 14 mile run the week before, we were feeling great. This was a personal distance record for both of us and it felt great to accomplish. We did everything right! This past Sunday, we set out to do 16 miles. I’m not sure what happened but mentally we just weren’t into it. We got to 10 miles and called it quits. Denise’s knee hurt, I was tired, it was hot etc. but the real reason we didn’t keep going? Our attitude. I’m not sure why we stopped at 10 miles, but I know for a fact we’re not giving up.

On Monday, I was bound and determined to finish my distance so I set out to run the last 6 miles. I did it, and proved to myself that I wasn’t giving up. Was this the exact plan? No, but I found a way to not give up. Now, I’m right back on track and sticking to my schedule. At the end of this training, if I achieve excellence I will be proud and will have done what I set out to do.

One response to “Chasing Perfection

  1. Pingback: 2011 in Review | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

