Oktober City Weekend


In exactly 13 days I am moving to the suburbs to Rich’s condo to start our life together! I couldn’t be more excited or ready, but a part of me will always love Chicago!

My weekend started out with a massage at Studio Within. I bought myself a Groupon for $39 for a 60 minute massage as a post-20 miler treat, great deal if you ask me! The massage was great, if I wasn’t moving I would definitely go back. After the massage Rich and I stayed in and had a movie night. I made him rent Scream 4, I wanted to watch it because it was filmed in and around my hometown. It was pretty entertaining! The relaxing night was just what I needed.

On Saturday night, we headed to Lincoln Square for some Oktoberfest fun! Rich went over to Germany when we first started dating and has always wanted to take me to the Chicago Brauhaus. They were doing an Oktoberfest special so we decided it was time! When we got there, the wait was about an hour so we headed next door to Gene’s Sausage Shop to browse.

image

Gene’s is a European market that has a lot of specialty items. They also have an awesome rooftop where we enjoyed some beers while checking out a great view of the street below.

image

I enjoyed a Wild Onion Pumpkin Ale and Rich enjoyed a Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA. Yum!

 

image

We had one more beer each while we waited to be seated at the Brauhaus. It was packed! But, there was music and dancing and lots of action to keep us entertained while we waited.

image

When we were seated, I was very happy. I was starving!!!

image

I had the smoked pork loin. It came with spatzle and some sauerkraut. It was good, but I liked Rich’s way more!

image

He got the Pork Knuckle. This is the official dish of the Haufbrau Haus in Munich. He has been craving it since he went to Oktoberfest over two years ago. He was very happy and I now understand why he was craving it so bad. It was delicious!!!

image

Prost!

image

Of course, I had room for some apple strudel. I was stuffed but like I always tell Rich, its a different part of my stomach!

image

This morning we went to brunch at my most favorite brunch spot, the Southport Grocery. (where I went to the Secret Supper with my friend Jen!)

image

I have a new found love for a good Bloody Mary. These were made with ancho chile infused Tito’s vodka. Yum!

image

I had the brisket and gravy. It was sooo good!

image

Rich had the Southern Omlette. It was good, but he enjoyed mine much more and didn’t mind finishing my plate for me. As always. 😉

image

We also split a tasting plate of their famous Bread Pudding Pancakes. So gooey and so delicious! A must try!

image

After brunch we headed over to watch football with some friends. Overall it was a relaxing, fun and great weekend! There is a lot to get done in the next 13 days before I move! It can get a little overwhelming but I am crossing one thing off my to-do list at a time. I can’t wait to move, to set new goals and to move forward in my life and in my relationship. It will be a good time!

I’m off to bed, goodnight!

Leave a Reply

