New Home, New Routine


I am half way through my first week of living in my new home! Its definitely been a whirlwind of new things! I am normally not the best at change. I am a type A person and love routine! So, this week has been a bit of an adjustment but I know in time I will be used to it.

So what’s changed?
-I now have a roommate! I have lived alone since college, so for 3 1/2 years it was all about me. Its nice to have someone to spend time with (especially the man I love) but is definitely going to take some time to get used to.
-I am now a suburban girl! I loved living in Chicago (and still love the city) but was ready to settle down and start a life of our own with Rich.
-My commute has totally changed! Its a lot longer, I now take an hour train each way so it ends up taking me about 1 hour 20 minutes each way. But, the trains are quiet and its nice to have some forced downtime. (I am bad at slowing down)
-I live in a home that we own! (Well, technically Rich owns it but it will be ours once we get married in exactly then months!) Its nice to be able to call our place “home,” and for the first time I actually feel at home. I have lived in rented places since going to college and never really felt settled in. Now I am and its amazing to have someplace to call home and someone to share it with!

What hasn’t changed?
I’m still me! I’m still doing my best to remember the best things about every day. I am remembering my goals and settling in to a new balanced lifestyle. I am centering my new routine around things that are important to me-eating healthy, working out, working hard at my career, having great friends and spending time with the people I love!

This week for me is all about adjusting to my new routine. However, I have some goals in mind I will be sharing soon. I started this blog to focus on completing a big goal and its time for a new one! 

Leave a Reply

