Creamy Tomato Soup


Are you feeling grumpy today? Looking for some comfort food? Or maybe just looking for an easy go-to recipe that can be made at the beginning of the week and last for days?

Creamy Tomato Soup to the rescue!

Rich and I sampled this soup about a month ago at our local Mariano’s. I loved it so much I took two samples. (What? That’s not normal?) Since then we have made it at least three times! This week I made a batch on Sunday and so far it’s been a great lunch! I love making soups at the beginning of the week. The idea of having something easy to pack is so stress-free, I love it!

Enough of my babbling, now it’s time to make the soup!

One ingredient I thought about adding but then did not even up adding-can you guess which one?

You will need:
-2 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil
-1 small yellow onion, chopped
-2 garlic cloves, chopped
-1 35 oz. can sliced tomatoes
-2 cans chicken broth
-2 teaspoons tomato paste
-12 basil leaves, shredded
-salt and pepper to taste
-1/2 cup cream
-1/2 cup frozen peas
Optional:
-1/2 cup celery (I used it)
-1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I did not use it this time, but it makes it REALLY good!)

Let's get cooking!

First, heat oil in large stock pot. Add onion and garlic. (and celery, if adding) Cook over low heat until soft.

To be honest, I think 5 steps is my max for recipes!

Once the onions are opaque, add the tomatoes, chicken broth, tomato paste, basil, salt and pepper to the pan.

At this point, it should be smelling pretty good in your kitchen!

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

Final step!

Finally, add the peas and cream. Taste and season with salt and pepper as needed. If you want to add your cheese, turn off the heat and add it now. (I did not this time and it was delicious, just not as decadent as normal)

Yum!

Serve with torn up pieces of Italian bread and more cheese, alone with crackers or paired with a grilled cheese! So good and great to have on hand for easy lunches.

Enjoy!

5 responses to “Creamy Tomato Soup

  1. yumm! looks fabulous! Adding it to my list of recipes for sure! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Recipe Trial and Errors | livehalffull

  3. Pingback: New Recipe Round-Up | livehalffull

  4. Pingback: Elf for Health Week Two and Meal Plan 12/9-12/15 | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

