Powder Keg Chili


As an entrée on Superbowl Sunday, I made an old standby-Powder Keg Chili! I found this recipe in my Weight Watchers “Comfort Classics” cookbook a few years ago and it has since become my go-to chili recipe.

You will need:
1 pound lean ground beef (5% or less)
1 onion, chopped
1 (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes
1 (15 1/2 oz.) can pinto or kidney beans, drained (I always use kidney)
1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce
1 cup water
2 Tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon cayenne

I swayed from the original recipe and added about a cup of chopped celery and carrots this time because I had them on hand. I am really glad I did! They added a lot of bulk and did not change the flavor at all, just enhanced it! Also, I doubled the recipe because we had five people total and three were men. This recipe makes six, one cup servings and I wanted to allow for seconds and leftovers! (hello, lunches!)

First, combine the beef and onion (and celery and carrots if you decide to add like I did) in a Dutch oven and cook over medium-high heat, breaking the beef apart with a wooden spoon, until the beef is browned. (about 5 minutes)

Once the beef is browned, add the tomatoes, beans, tomato sauce, water, chili powder, cumin, sugar and cayenne to the pan. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer, partially covered, until thickened slightly. (about 30 minutes) At the boil point, today I transferred this to a crock pot to keep warm. This was better for the way I was planning to serve.

After the chili is thickened up, it is ready to eat! I served the chili with chopped raw onion, shredded sharp cheddar cheese and oyster crackers. The recipe suggests serving with tortilla chips, which I have always done in the past. Both options are good!

The chili was a hit and as predicted, the men went back for seconds. I am glad that I made a double batch!

4 responses to “Powder Keg Chili

  1. Oh, how I love a good batch of chili! And it’s definitely a man pleaser! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Meal Plan 11/5-11/10 | livehalffull

  3. Pingback: Extra Prep Sunday | livehalffull

  4. Pingback: Meal Plan 11/11-11/17 and New Challenges | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

