Broccoli Cheddar Soup


Soup is one of my favorite easy things to make that is great to have on hand for lunch or dinner during the week. It’s a huge timesaver! Tonight I made one of my favorite go-to soups for us to have for lunch this week, Broccoli Cheese Soup! I love this recipe from Rachel Wilkerson. It’s a good one that I have made several times!

image

You will need:
1 tsp real butter
1 cup chopped onion
Two garlic cloves, minced
3 cups of fat-free, no-sodium chicken broth
1 (16-ounce) package of frozen broccoli florets
2 and 1/2 cups 2 percent milk (I used 1%)
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp black pepper
8 ounces light processed cheese, cut into cubes

image

First, chop up the onion and garlic.

image

Heat a large soup pot over medium-high heat and add the butter. Add the garlic and onion and saute it for about three minutes.

image

Next add the broth and broccoli. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, then reduce it to medium and let it cook for ten minutes.

image

Meanwhile, combine the milk and flour and stir with a whisk until it’s well-blended. Add to the broccoli mixture and cook for five minutes, stirring constantly.

image

Remove from heat and stir in the cheese cubes. It will go from this…

image

To this! Then you are done!

See? Simple. And you’ll have lunch for the week! A cup of this soup has about 150 calories, which is much better than ordering out at lunch and much cheaper!

Enjoy!

6 responses to “Broccoli Cheddar Soup

  1. I love broccoli and cheddar soup but I’ve never made my own. But I’m loving the fact that this recipe only has 150 calories and is pretty inexpensive to make so I think I might have to give it a whirl! 🙂

  2. Do it! I have made it at least 6 times in the past year, it’s that good!

  3. This looks AMAZING!! totally going to try it soon. I love B&C soup but have always been so intimated to make it myself. thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  4. This looks so great I’m going to make this in the weekend.
    I kove soup in the weekends.

    btw thanks for visiting my blog!

    Gr. Rianne

  5. Pingback: Take Time Tuesday: Sick Edition | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

