Quickie Valentine


Last night I ended up working late, so by the time I got home I had very little time to prepare the dinner I had planned! So, it was quick cooking in the kitchen!

For the meal, I loosely followed Real Simple’s recipe for Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin and a Weight Watcher’s recipe for Garlic Mashed Potatoes. The meal took about 30 minutes!

Are you ready to multitask? Ok good!

For the Garlic Mashed Potatoes you will need:
8 small red potatoes, washed and cut into 1 inch chunks
4 garlic cloves, peeled
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup milk
2 Tablespoon green onions or chives
salt and pepper

First, pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees. Then, put the potato chunks in a saucepan with the garlic cloves, cover with water and put over high heat to bring to a boil. While the potatoes are cooking, prep your pork!

For the Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin you will need:
1 lb. lean pork tenderloin
assorted spices (I used parsley, basil, oregano and garlic cloves)
4 slices of bacon
salt and pepper
olive oil

Season the pork with your chosen spices. I also cut slits in the pork and shoved some garlic cloves inside. How romantic!

Once you are done seasoning, wrap the pork in bacon.

At this time, your water should be bowling. Bring heat to low and let potatoes and garlic cook for about 8 minutes, or until they are tender.

Meanwhile, heat about a teaspoon of olive oil in a cast iron skillet. Then, cook the pork for about 3 minutes on each side, or until the outside is white and the bacon is cooked. (but not crispy) Once you cook the second side of the pork, put the cast iron skillet directly into the oven.

The pork will cook in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until the pork is cooked through. You will know the pork is done when it is almost completely white.

While the pork cooks, drain the potatoes and garlic then return them to the pan.

Add the milk, sour cream and green onions or chives to the pan.

Mash to your hearts content! I like my potatoes lumpy, so that’s the way they were served. 🙂

Once the potatoes are mashed, the pork should be cooked through. Slice off a piece and dig in! This meal is quite a man pleaser! I can say from experience that it is a woman pleaser as well. (I love anything with bacon)

Don’t forget dessert! I was served homemade chocolate chip cookie sandwiches. Rich made the cookies for Valentine’s Day, and when the cookies turned out flat his solution was to put ice cream in between. (thanks to his Mom) He is a keeper!!! 🙂

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Quickie Valentine

  1. Yum! Looks great! I love looking at your food posts–I’m jealous of all the great meals you cook! I’m cooking for Kevin and my V-day celebration this weekend–going to make a Real Simple recipe too and some strawberry lemonade mimosas!

  2. I’m making drunken cheesy bread (come on, anything with that name can’t possibly be bad!!). The recipe is here:
    http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/drunken-cheesy-bread-10000001608760/index.html

    I’m also adding a fried egg on top! Adding egg to anything is good! Then also trying this caramelized onion dip for an appetizer: http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/caramelized-onion-dip-00000000044919/#commenting

    Hopefully it all turns out! I’m definitely making your recipes the following weekend when Kevin is home again! I agree that anything with bacon is good (as well as mashed potatoes!)!

Leave a Reply

