Bird’s the Word!


Tonight, I made a roasted chicken for the first time!

image

It was very easy. I preheated my oven to 450 degrees while I seasoned the chicken with kosher salt, pepper and garlic powder I squeezed some lemon juice into the cavity of the bird and then shoved five garlic gloves inside. (I don’t think there is a more polite way to say that)

I placed the chicken breast down in a pan and cooked it for fifteen minutes at 450 degrees. Then I turned the heat down to 350 degrees and let it cook for about two hours. My bird was five pounds, so if you are going to do it yourself adjust accordingly. Once my meat thermometer read 175, it was done!

The reason for the bird? I’m attempting to make dinner out of one roaster chicken for the entire work week like I read about in Women’s Health. I was pretty uninspired with meal planning this week and the article made it easy. Plus, the chicken was only $5 and I had several of the ingredients already on hand.

I’ll update throughout the week after I make my meals. Night one was a success, I’ll share tomorrow!

4 responses to “Bird’s the Word!

  1. That looks delish! The whole roasted chicken has always been a territory i have been afraid of. Same day i will attempt one!

  2. Pingback: Bird’s the Word Day Two | livehalffull

  3. Pingback: Bird’s the Word Day Two

Leave a Reply

