Chicago Running Bloggers Meet Up


Yesterday I had the pleasure of meeting several lovely blogger ladies!

I woke up bright and early and caught the train two minutes earlier than my week day train, so obviously I was very excited. I met Kim and Bobbi on the train and I don’t think we took a breath the entire ride, too much chatting! By the time we arrived downtown, both puking in port-a-potties (me) and pooping in the woods (this person shall remain nameless, but I’ll give you a 1/2 shot guess) had been mentioned, so I knew it was going to a good day.

Bobbi and I on the way home excitedly add our new real-life blogger friends as Facebook friends, is that a step forward or a step backward?

Thanks, Kim for documenting this moment!

After we arrived downtown, we walked the mile from Union Station to the Bean to meet up with some of the bloggers!

Of course, we took pictures!

And I took pictures of bloggers taking pictures!

From the Bean we took off for a 3.2 mile run (to Oak Street beach and back). Of course, we took a break at the middle point and took a picture using Kim’s self timer. It worked beautifully, wonderful team work from the Chicago Running Bloggers!

Self timer perfection!

Thanks again, Kim for the picture! 🙂

Post run, we headed to the Shamrock Shuffle expo at Navy Pier and met up with the rest of the bloggers! We walked around and explored the expo for about an hour. I did some good work in that hour! I won a free “vintage” (is 2008 really vintage?) L.A.T.E. ride t-shirt and shamelessly entered both Rich and I twice to win a free entry in this year’s ride (pick us!), tried all of the Nuun flavors before settling on purchasing Tropical and even won a gigantic jug of ONE coconut water  by liking them on Facebook!

After the expo, the flock of blue headed downstairs to the Navy Pier food court to eat some lunch. It was short and sweet and filled with lots of running talk! It was like having a instant set of BBF’s who already knew a lot about your life, I loved it!

The lovely ladies!

Meet my new BFFs (from left) Kim, Yours Truly, Sara, Kelsey, Bobbi, Kelly, Rachael, Maggie and Erin! (Erin is there in spirit, she had to leave right before lunch)

All in all it was a fun day! After a short walk and an even shorter cab ride, Kim, Bobbi and I made the train home and spent the ride home Facebooking on our phones, chatting and getting to know each other better smelling like sweat. I loved it!

7 responses to “Chicago Running Bloggers Meet Up

  1. Pingback: Bird’s the Word Day Fiver | livehalffull

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap 3/18-3/24 | livehalffull

  3. I’m so glad everyone had a good time at our first meet-up!! We will DEFINITELY have to do it again!!

  4. It is so fun meeting other bloggers because you can just start off chatting… you don’t have to wait to get to know each other! I had a lot of fun! Thanks for suggesting the taxi, lol!!! 🙂

  5. Pingback: March Goal Recap | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

