It’s My Friday Night


Last night, Rich went down the city for a concert with his friends so I took the opportunity to have a relaxing night at home! I had plans to possibly go out with some friends from college tonight, but instead I decided that a relaxing night was in order.

20120427-211018.jpg

Before settling onto my couch, I picked up a few essentials.

20120427-211023.jpg

So, what’s in the bag? Bath salts, Skinnygirl wine and take out from Wisma!

20120427-211031.jpg

To me, these are the ingredients for a perfect night in. 🙂

20120427-211129.jpg

While at Wisma, I also got two Lavender Sea Salt Caramels to have for dessert. Rich has a huge aversion to Lavender but I love it, so I thoroughly enjoyed a “Katie” treat.

20120427-211013.jpg

While I ate, I caught up on my shows. After dinner, I watched Water for Elephants. I loved it!

To me, nights in alone are underrated. I think most people are afraid to spend nights alone, when in actuality, nights alone are opportunities to figure out what you makes you happy. I think to some extent young people link nights alone to “not being cool” but I’ve grown older I’ve learned that’s not the case. I remember reading an article in Glamour years ago called Thirty Things Every Woman Should Have and Should Know Before She’s Thirty years ago, and I remember one of those things being having lived alone. I whole heartedly agree with this statement.I’ve recently learned that this article was made into a book, so I’m excited to get my hands on it!

Living alone helped open my eyes to what makes me happy. Spending time alone helped me really learn about myself, my personality and what I actually enjoy spending my time doing. In living alone, I was able to “come into my own” and really become comfortable being 100% myself. Which was very important when I suddenly met a man who I could be 100% that person with! 🙂

Of course, I love coming home to my future husband. But now, when I have a night alone I like to embrace it! Last night, I knew exactly what I wanted and went for it. And I’m so glad I did!

Have you ever lived alone? What do you think was the #1 thing that helped you “come into your own”? What do you do when you have night to yourself? Spill!

2 responses to “It’s My Friday Night

  1. The only time I officially lived alone was my freshman year when I ended up with my own form room. But it was a dorm, so not really alone. However when Robert joined the Navy and left for boot camp and then a-school, I had a lot of alone time. Which sucked but was also nice to be able to do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted (we had been married two years but that point). Now I look forward to my alone time when he has duty weekends.

  2. I look forward to it as well!

Leave a Reply

