Weight of the World


Remember yesterday how I was saying how I felt like I was getting overwhelmed and Tuesday how I said I was trying to keep things in perspective? Well, I kind of failed.

For the past three days, I have had a massive tension headache that would just not go away! Finally, this morning I called in sick and spent the day working from home. I got my work done, straightened up around our condo, took a few breaks to get a few wedding things done, made myself healthy meals at home and had peace and quiet to myself. It was exactly what I needed! Thankfully, my headache is finally starting to subside and I have found my perspective.

Today I realized that is has been just over four years that I graduated from college. Three years to the date ago today, I met Rich. And two years to the date, I started my first position at my current company. A lot has happened in the past few years, but when I take time to look at all that I have accomplished and the place I’m at in my life right now, I realize that it’s a really, really good place to be.

So, for the next four months, I know things are going to be crazy. I know that I will get overwhelmed and stressed. But, I’m making a promise to myself to take a step back when things get too crazy, to take some weight off my shoulders and be proud.

Now tell me, what do you do when the stress of busy life gets to be too much weight on your shoulders? How do you take a step back and find perspective? Please share with me!

Have a great Thursday night!

9 responses to “Weight of the World

  1. This is something that I struggle with. I try to run. I try to remind myself to take 1 task at a time. But it’s tough.

    You are doing great!

  2. I have a super hard time finding perspective. When my sister got engaged in January the excitement of that helped me find it! I need to remind myself to do stuff like that. I am happy your headache went away after a day at home πŸ™‚ And how cool that all of those anniversaries fall on the same day!

  3. I try to keep in mind what’s most important: to me, health, happiness and nurturing my relationships. I struggle pretty regularly with workplace stress, but I love my job overall and try to keep things in perspective.
    I go back and forth on techniques, but things I’ve found helpful:
    -run in the morning.
    -write out my day’s goals/tasks. (I keep lists by work/personal/wedding/etc). I keep the total to 5 max for today.
    -force some “veg” time. No work/wedding talk.
    -make a grateful list. You got a lot of awesome in your life to recognize!

  4. Pingback: Liberated | livehalffull

  5. I can relate to this post so much! I actually recently wrote a post as well all about perspective (I even named it that..creative) and how important it is to sometimes step back and take a look at things from another angle. I’ve been struggling with some things in my life as well and I hope to remain positive, grateful, and proud.

    I hope you find your balance!

Leave a Reply

