Taking a Step Back


Well, I ran a 5K today. I trained for several weeks for the half marathon and when it came down to it, neither Denise or I were mentally into it at all. So, when the weather predictions pointed to 90 degree weather for the race, we decided to drop down to the 5K. It seemed to be the general consensus because almost 40% or so of the 5K participants had half marathon bibs on. So, we ran, we enjoyed it and we got it done. I did not bring my Garmin, nor did I check the clock. I just got it done.

To be honest, I’ve been really burnt out lately due to too much on my plate and I haven’t really been enjoying the wedding planning process. So, I know I need to take a step back and let myself enjoy this time instead of overwhelm myself with training for races and giving myself other goals to attain. For now, I just want to look and feel my best on my wedding day.

After the race, I came home and relaxed.


My leftover Eggplant Parmesan from dinner last night was calling my name when I got home. So, I ate it for breakfast. You only live once!

20120610-173923.jpg

I have spent the rest of the day on my couch watching the Bridezilla marathon. I took a short break to go flower girl shopping with Rich’s cousin, but other than that, I was watching Bridezilla.

Now, I feel so much better. Sometimes, it’s best to take a step back and just do nothing instead of force yourself to do everything and not have fun along the way. This is something I’ve learned lately!

Stay tuned tomorrow for my June goals. Now that I’m recharged, I’m ready to make some major progress between now and the wedding.

But for now, I’m going to enjoy some more Brideszilla episodes and enjoy some time with my fiancé, who’s currently grilling us up some dinner outside.

Have a relaxing night!

12 responses to “Taking a Step Back

  1. I had leftover Chinese take-out for breakfast! Yours sounds better 🙂
    Glad you’re relaxing tonight.

  2. I’m glad you didn’t over exert yourself! I was worried this morning. Right in between sleeping in and my mid-afternoon nap. But i really did worry! 🙂

  3. I was thinking about you! I was so mother effing hot, even early. I think you did exactly the right thing…

  4. Good descision to step back on the half-marathon and “enjoy” the 5K. For sure take some time to enjoy all your planning and leading up to your wedding. You don’t want to go into burned out!

  5. Sounds like the perfect day. I seem to need a day off like that after I am so busy or I lose my mind!

  6. I wanted to thank you for this post. I read it after a long weekend, when I was supposed to have a long training run for a half I’m running soon. Since it was SO hot and I was feeling sick, I decided not to do it. I was being really hard on myself for not running, but when I read your post I was reminded that we always need to be listening to our bodies and doing what is best for them, and that’s going to change from one day to the next. Thanks for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

