Living Life Without a Plan


As I mentioned on Monday (and many times before this), life has been a little crazed. This week at work and in life has been crazy, so I haven’t had much time to sit down and hammer out a blog post. I have about three drafts of posts I started and never got around to finishing. Yes, it’s been one of those weeks. So here a few life updates.

Last weekend we had our second wedding shower here in Illinois. It was a great shower and even better to see all my family and friends. My MOH and her boyfriend stayed both Friday and Saturday nights and both nights I was up past 2am. I haven’t done that in ages. After the shower Rich and I hosted a BBQ for about 25 of our closest friends and family. We’ve hosted family dinners and a few friends, but never a large group. It was so much fun preparing. It was like playing house, only with a real house and a real husband. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I’ve been enjoying living without a plan. Life has been too crazy to have a routine, so I’ve just been rolling with it to the best of my ability. I’m a planner, that’s for sure, but with too much going on I have actually been able to let go and take things one day at a time. Shockingly, it’s working.

I haven’t run since 6/10. And I’m ok with that. I do miss running, but I needed a break. Mentally running is really tough for me, and I’m been focusing on fun work outs. I’ve been attending Monday night sculpting classes at the gym which I enjoy feeling the burn at, biking place a lot with Rich (Tuesday night we rode 12 miles to go to an outdoor concert with Kim and Steven) and tonight Rich and I took our first ballroom dancing class!

Yes, you read that right. We took a ballroom dancing class. Yet another wedding preparation activity that Rich and I have done together. (in my defense, he agreed with the idea we needed classes after we tried to dance and I tried to lead)

I’ve gotten a lot done with the wedding these past few weeks-picked up our invitations, finalized the floral proposal, wrote about 70 thank you notes for the showers (42 to go!), purchased my veil, ordered my bridesmaids’ gifts and my shoes on Etsy (I can’t wait to share!) and booked our limo for our bridal party, shuttle for our guests and am in the process of finalizing our rentals and catering. So yeah, it’s been a busy few weeks.

With only 9 weeks to go, I’m feeling a little stressed but surprisingly much more calm as the date approaches. It’s been important to take a step back and focus on the marriage and not the wedding, because that’s the reason for all this work, right? Also, maybe letting go is helping. I may be on to something. 😉

8 responses to “Living Life Without a Plan

  1. So glad things are falling into place!!

  2. Aw that’s cute that you guys took a dancing class!!! 🙂 I’m so bad at NOT having a plan! But it sounds like you’re enjoying life and that’s what matters 🙂

  3. Where are you taking the ballroom dance lessons? We took some before (and after) our wedding at that place in the Vernon Hills mall. We stopped because one of our instructors was really bad and just wanted to push us to buy shoes and most lessons (and not care so much if we were improving). One instructor was really good though 🙂

    You look so pretty in your shower pics! 🙂

  4. Sometimes you just need to let go and let life run its course. Everything happens for a reason so just sit back and enjoy the ride 🙂

Leave a Reply

