A Month of Marriage and October Goals


I can’t believe it’s already been a month since I got married! After the wedding, I set some post-wedding goals and now that it’s been a month, I figured now would be a good time to reassess.

Here were my September Goals:
-Get in a solid workout routine– I did a pretty good job of working out 3-4 times each week of September. (post Honeymoon) However, I’m still figuring out my workout routine.
-Sign up for a race– I signed up for the North Shore Turkey Trot! I’ve really missed running and my hiatus really helped me to appreciate it. Not only was I too busy with the wedding, but I was also burnt out. Now I love running again!
-Try new recipes– I’ve tried a ton of new recipes in September!  I also tried another one last night that was a winner. Stay tuned tomorrow for the recipe!
-Work on Sunday weekly prep– I’m doing much better but I definitely want to do more. The quicker my meal prep is during the week the better.
-Focus on the blog– I consistently posted in September and it felt SO GOOD to be back into the habit of blogging. It really does hold me accountable. I also went to an impromptu Chicago Running Bloggers meet up and it was great to be around some like minds!
-Organize– Last weekend we cleaned our guest room in preparation for Denise’s wedding weekend. Through the course of wedding planning, it became filled with gifts, wedding decorations and suitcases from the honeymoon. Now you can walk in it!
-Start Going to Church Regularly– This is something to focus on in October. We were enjoying our lazy days and free time a little too much in September so church got put on the back burner.
-Save for Europe– Our plan is in place and we are on our way to saving for a trip for our one year. It’s definitely something great to look forward to!
-Enjoy Being Married!– I think we’re doing a great job! This past month was so much more relaxed than the last year. It’s been so nice to enjoy just being us!

And now, some goals for October:
-Continue to work towards workout routine- running has helped, but I still haven’t found my post-wedding groove. I want to do more classes at my gym and do a combination of mornings and evenings so I don’t get burned out and exhausted with mornings. Definitely something to focus on this month.
-Do more detailed meal planning– We wasted a lot of food this month, and I’m not a fan of wasting food and money! A more detailed weekly meal plan will help prevent this.
-Finish up post-wedding tasks-We still need to finish our thank you notes and I need to finish up the name changes steps. Slowly but surely, we can get these things done by the end of the month.
-Read one book-I love reading, but I don’t make time for it. I would like to read before bed each night to clear my mind and decompress.
-Start Going to Church Regularly– Something to continue to focus on from last month.
-Work on moderation-After many months of splurging at wedding events, it’s hard not to treat every weekend as a splurge. I really do not want to “diet,” because for me it always backfires, but I do need to find a balance.

Now you tell me-how was your September? Do you have any goals for October? How do you get back on track after many weekends of splurging? I would love to hear tips!

2 responses to “A Month of Marriage and October Goals

  1. Establishing a workout routine is something I’m still working on establishing! Please share your secrets when you figure it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

