Fall Veggie Curry


Last month, Rich and I went out for Thai food. This was a huge relationship win for me because for four years Rich has claimed he does not like Thai food. For a year and half of our relationship, I lived next to a Thai food place so that was especially hard. I tried my best to convince Rich that since he loves Japanese, Chinese and pretty much every cuisine he’s ever tried that he would like Thai food. He would still say no. (for the record, the only food that comes to mind that Rich does not like is Pumpkin. This is killing me right now!) Finally one day, I asked him what he tried that was Thai and he said dessert. So, I made him try it again.

It turns out, Rich loves Thai food and all things curry! Since the milestone day where we went out for Thai, we’ve ordered in in twice and on Monday night I made us veggie curry using this recipe. As soon as Rich took a bite he said, “Katie, this is a keeper.” It was a match made in curry heaven.

20121003-172534.jpg

For the recipe you will need:
1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup diced peeled sweet potato
1 cup small cauliflower florets
1/4 cup thinly sliced yellow onion
2 teaspoons Madras curry powder (mine was called Hot Curry)
1/2 cup vegetable broth
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 (14.5-ounce) can no-salt-added diced tomatoes, undrained
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt (mine was nonfat)

20121003-172543.jpg

Step One: Heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add sweet potato to pan; sauté 3 minutes.

20121003-172555.jpg

Step Two: Decrease heat to medium. Add cauliflower, onion, and curry powder; cook 1 minute, stirring mixture constantly.

20121003-172604.jpg

Step Three: Add broth and next 3 ingredients (through tomatoes); bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally.

20121003-172618.jpg

Once the veggies are tender, sprinkle with cilantro and serve with yogurt. One great thing to note is if you prep your veggies beforehand, this recipe can me made in 15 minutes flat! I served the curry over Quinoa for extra protein but it would also be great with rice or noodles. Also, adding chicken, tofu or shrimp would probably also up the protein in the recipe. I’ll let you know, Rich loved this recipe so much that he requested it next week. Don’t mind if I do!

6 responses to “Fall Veggie Curry

  1. do you deliver

  2. Yum! I love curry and am craving Thai! I think I will try out this recipe next week! Thanks Katie!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Recipe Round Up #2 | livehalffull

  4. Pingback: Meal Plan 10/21-10/27 | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

