Homemade Pizza Dough


20121105-203015.jpg

One of my favorite go-to homemade recipes is my friend Denise’s Mom’s pizza dough. I was intimidated at first when I made it, but once I made it the first time and saw how easy it was it became a recipe that I made quite frequently. My favorite part about this recipe? It makes enough for two pizzas, so I always freeze half of the dough to have pizza another night!

You will Need:
1 1/4 ounce package of active dry yeast
1 cup warm water
1 teaspoon honey
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon olive oil

20121105-202942.jpg

One of the reasons that it took me so long to post this recipe was the fact that I always forget to take pictures. This time, I failed at taking pictures of the first three steps. Oh well, I think this recipe is easy enough to figure out. If I can do it, anyone can! 🙂

Step One: Mix honey and yeast in warm water (about 100 degrees) and let stand in a bowl for ten minutes. When it is ready, the yeast will be foamy.

Step Two: Put flour and salt in a large bowl and whisk together. Add the yeast mixture and stir. Add olive oil and combine. By hand, knead dough for 10 minutes until it is smooth and elastic.

Step Three: Fill your sink with 2 inches of hot water, let the bowl rest in the water and put a dish towel over it. Let it sit for 30-45 minutes.

20121105-202952.jpg

Step Four: Halve the dough and put half in the freezer in a tightly sealed ziplock bag. Or halve the dough and make two pizzas! Press the dough onto a greased pizza stone and press until it is flat and covers the whole pan.

20121105-203000.jpg

Step Five: Before placing the dough in the oven, prick it with a fork all over to avoid large air pockets. Put the dough in a 450 degree oven for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, it should not be brown but will be firm in the middle.

20121105-203008.jpg

Step Six: After 10 minutes, take your dough out of the oven and top the pizza with your sauce and toppings. Typically, I top my pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese, mushrooms and Italian sausage. Tonight, I mixed it up and topped my pizza with pesto, goat cheese, tomatoes and mushrooms. You can also brush your crust with olive oil if you want the pizza to be crispy.

20121105-203024.jpg

Step Seven: After topping your pizza, put it back in the oven for 10-20 more minutes or until the cheese is bubbly and the crust is slightly brown. Let cool, slice and enjoy! See, easy as pie! Enjoy!

Now you tell me! What are your favorite pizza toppings? Do you make pizza at home or typically order out?

10 responses to “Homemade Pizza Dough

  1. I’ve been meaning to make homemade dough for about ever. The problem is Trader Joe’s pizza dough is always there…and only $1.99.

    I’m going to try this. I’m going to try this. I NEED to try this.

  2. I adore making homemade pizza. I have a breadmaker which makes it SUPER simple. And when it comes to toppings, the more veggies the better!! I especially love olives, bell peppers and tomatoes on my pie!

  3. Homemade pizza dough is great! It’s so versatile and I love having the option to top it off with anything I please. Thanks for the recipe!

  4. I found your post through a Google search. I’ve been looking for a good, repeatable, easy recipe (we’ve been using Pillsbury Artisan crust-in-a-can) to make vegan pizzas at home. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  5. Pingback: Meal Plan 11/25-12/1 | livehalffull

  6. Pingback: Saturday Productivity and Meal Plan 12/2-12/8 | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

