North Shore Turkey Trot 5k 2012


On Thanksgiving morning, I woke up bright and early at 5:45am and was off to meet my friends Ashley and Kirsten for a little Turkey Trot action at the North Shore Turkey Trot in Highland Park!

20121122-215948.jpg

We planned to meet at 6:45am to give ourselves plenty of time before the 7:30am start. We picked a parking garage near the start line and meeting up went seamlessly! In the garage, we stretched for a few minutes, put on our bibs and decided on our race strategy. After a quick stop at the Porta Potties, we headed for our coral!

20121122-215954.jpg

On our way, we stopped for a little fun at the race podium.

20121122-220000.jpg

Ashley had been training by doing the Couch to 5K for several weeks and her goals were to finish the race in under 45 minutes and not stop to walk. My goals were to stay with her the entire race and be as peppy or harsh as needed for her to make it to the finish line!

20121122-220008.jpg

After just over 41 minutes, we met our goals! I was really proud of Ashley because she never (out loud) wanted to stop running. Seeing her run her first 5K really helped remind me how far running has taken me and for that I was really thankful. This race definitely helped put me in a great mindset and inspired me to stay on the path to having a healthy balance in my life. It definitely also gave me the race bug again! All of this before 9:00am, which left me plenty of time to lounge before heading to my in-laws for the main event. The race was the perfect start to my Thanksgiving!

17 responses to “North Shore Turkey Trot 5k 2012

  1. Congrats on the race! That’s so awesome! and I love how motivating a race can be to keep you on the right track! πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats on meeting your goals. Nice pics. Like the podium picture!

  3. You braved the cold day today! Congrats!

  4. Congrats to Ashley! That’s sweet of you to pace her πŸ™‚

  5. What a fun way to start the day with friends! Congrats to Ashley on meeting her goal!

  6. Congratulations to both of you! I didn’t end up registering for this race but I foresee myself registering next year. Was it busy/crowded? Any negatives to report?

  7. congrats!! You three look so happy! πŸ˜€

  8. MY OLD CHICAGO JAZZ TEAMMATES! Crazy. So proud of you girls!

  9. Pingback: November Recap and December Goals | livehalffull

Leave a Reply

