Date Night: Bad Apple Chicago


This weekend, we had a great date night downtown at The Bad Apple. Looking online for someplace to go, my husband stumbled upon the restaurant and it was an awesome choice! They had a great beer list, high quality and unique food and great service.

20121124-213900.jpg

While waiting for our table, we grabbed a seat at the bar and tasted a few beers. I tasted a New Holland Blueberry Komblucha beer that was good, but I didn’t think I could drink a whole one. Rich sampled a beer from a new local brewery, Solemn Oath’s Belgian style IPA. It was delicious and that’s what we both settled on.

20121124-213852.jpg

I love Belgian style beers and Rich loves IPA, so this was the perfect beer for us.

20121124-213906.jpg

There were so many great options on the menu but we had to go with burgers. I started with the Quinoa Salad which was pine nut, cider soaked golden raisin, carrot, pea, mixed greens, fresh mint, pecorino cheese, Virtue RedStreak cider vinaigrette. It was awesome and definitely something I will be attempting to recreate at home!

20121124-213913.jpg

One fun thing about the Bad Apple is that they offer a choice of many seasonings for their hand cut fries-we had the options of truffle, firecracker, old bay, curry, minced garlic, sweet & spicy chipotle and ranch seasoning. I chose curry fries and went with the BLT & BC burger which was St Agur double crème blue cheese, bacon, arugula, oven dried tomato confit on herbed focaccia bun. It was perfectly cooked, high quality meat and absolutely delicious. I also liked that the portion size was small, but big enough to satisfy.

20121124-213920.jpg

Rich ordered the Freedom Burger which was truffled whipped St Angel’s triple creme cheese, spinach & enoki mushroom salad, truffle vinaigrette with truffle fries alongside, naturally. The burger was very rich and satisfying and the fries were awesome. You can’t really go wrong with truffle fries! Lucky for me, we split our fries half and half so I got to join in on the truffle fest.

My only complaint about the Bad Apple is the fact that they did not have a dessert menu. Because, for me, the dessert part of my stomach was not satisfied. (yes, it’s a separate section) But, I was able to push that sweet craving aside and forgive that fact because the burgers were just that good.

All in all, it was a great place for a casual, affordable and interesting date night!

4 responses to “Date Night: Bad Apple Chicago

  1. Yummm that place looks good! What a fun date night! And french fries are my faaaavorite!

  2. I love Bad Apple! They have so many amazing beers and their fries are to die for!

Leave a Reply

