My Third Service Project


35fzr2

This morning, the smallest thing happened to me that completely changed the course of my day. While I was getting off the train, the women next to me stopped, looked at me, smiled and said “have a good one.” It was the simplest thing, but it put me in a good mood and I finished my walk into the office with a smile and a positive attitude.

haters


I can’t help but notice but people are a lot more friendly and caring around the Holidays. People donate more money, time and effort into helping out those in need. That’s great, but what about their general attitude towards people who cross their paths? I’ve definitely seem people out Christmas shopping that get annoyed by the long lines, frustrated by the full parking lots and have a general negative attitude towards those around them. Maybe some people have this disposition, but what if we were all more like the woman on my train this morning? What if we stopped and said, “have a nice day,” let someone go ahead of us in line, or dropped our attitudes and simply put on a smile while Christmas shopping?

This got me thinking about my third service project for this month. Earlier in the month, I made the goal to do three service projects this month to help others. My first project was donating clothes and dishes to Goodwill to help out those in need. My second project is volunteering at a gift drive at church this weekend. But, I still needed my third project.

3pvztt

I came to the conclusion that my third project doesn’t have to be a formal “project,” but a general attitude towards everyone I come across in my daily life. So, this is what I’ve decided. For the next few weeks, I’m going to make a conscious effort to be nicer to those around me. I’m going to make an effort to say, “have a good one” to strangers, let people go ahead of me in line, not get frustrated in the crowds of Christmas shopping and put on a smile for those around me to see. Maybe I can change the course of someone’s day like the woman on the train did to me this morning. Even if I don’t , I’m pretty sure that this “project” will make me feel better and enjoy this Holiday season even more.

So, here’s to my third project! Anyone out there in on joining me? I would love to have someone to hold me accountable!

8 responses to “My Third Service Project

  1. People definitely do seem to be in a better mood over the holidays, and I love it! 🙂

  2. I try 2 do it all the time. What say u

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE DROID

  3. I will also try to do this. Especially in traffic, when people are the most vicious!

  4. That’s a great idea, Katie! I am going to try to do the same! My mom, Erin, and I all did some volunteer work last week. ConAgra did a huge dinner event for people in the homeless or Open Door Mission shelters, where people could get a chef catered holiday meal at the shelter. We volunteered and helped serve food and pour drinks. It definitely helped me realize how this time of year should be about helping others less fortunate than yourself!

Leave a Reply

