Chicago Running Bloggers Holidaze


Saturday I spent my morning with about twenty of my new Chicago Running Blogger friends! Early in the morning, a few of my new North Shore BFFs (Kim, Bobbi, Marcia and Riyanti) met up at my place and I got to play bus driver as we chatted our way down to the city. Honestly, I don’t think there was a quiet second in the car and I loved every minute of it!

Once we got to the city, we met up at Erin‘s beautiful loft and then headed out for a rainy three mile run. The first mile I ran with Kim and Anne and got to catch up with them, so the first mile was a breeze. The last two miles I bonded with Cary over our love of breweries so the miles flew by in a flash. Then, we came back to Erin’s place for some fun!

20121216-161458.jpg

I was easily persuaded by this crazy ginger to be beer buddies.

20121216-161509.jpg

And, of course I had to try all of the amazing food that everyone brought. These bloggers really know how to cook and bake!

20121216-161521.jpg

After the food, we all voted on best costume and Kelly won with her Santa snuggie over ugly Christmas sweater combo. She also won most Christmas clothing worn by one person that day. 🙂

20121216-161530.jpg

Maggie and Kim did a great job of announcing the costume winners and then helped lead us through our White Elephant gift exchange.

20121216-161545.jpg

I was the lucky (stealer) winner of a set of cat weights!

20121216-161551.jpg

Just kidding, I happily stole Kelly‘s gift which consisted of several Picky Bars and other running goodies. I’ve been wanting to try Picky Bars ever since she told me about them months ago when we met for lunch during the Nato summit. I’m so excited to give them a try!

I’m so glad that I got to see lots of blogger that I have met before and meet some new friends! My husband’s probably really annoyed with how many times I have said how much fun I had, but I really can’t get over it. Bloggers are so fun to hang out with and they know exactly what I need in my perfect day. A workout, some good food, some good booze and some good fun!

24 responses to “Chicago Running Bloggers Holidaze

  1. Haha, that cat box still cracks me up! Let me know what you think of the Picky Bars! I like all of the flavors except for Smooth Caf. I didn’t like the strong coffee flavor, oddly enough… Although I know lots of other folks like that flavor. I agree that I also had so much fun at the party! I can’t stop talking about it either. 🙂

  2. I was trying to explain the cat weights box to my husband … I don’t think he got it. Or if he did, he did not appreciate it.

  3. Haha, I bet my husband is thinking the same thing – “okay, I get it these ladies are all cool, get over it!”

    If I had known you and Cary were talking about breweries I would’ve tried to keep up! Operative word being “try.” But I love breweries so much, I live around the corner from one 🙂

    It was so fun to meet you, I hope we can run together again soon!

  4. Great meeting you, funny how small the world is which our jobs being so close!

  5. It was so great meeting you, and I am going to hold you to the plan of a race-and-brewery adventure sometime in 2013.

    Also, I’m a little bummed you stole the awesome weightlifting cat box from me, but I am happy with the gift I ended up with, so I think we both win. 🙂

  6. I expect a full report on the picky bars! I will also being doing a whole post about beer this week, haha 😀

  7. Yay for blogger meet ups!!! I went to one in DC this weekend and it was so fun!

  8. I think it makes our husbands happy that we have such great friends… right? RIGHT?!?!? 😉

    I am anxious to hear how the Picky Bars are! 🙂

  9. I love that you got the cat box! Sooo funny!

Leave a Reply

