What I’ve Been Up to


Happy Friday! Wow, it has been a crazy few weeks (months or year) for me! Before this time came around, I mentally prepared myself for the craziness that was going to be August and September, but I don’t think I could’ve prepared for how crazy it’s been!

20120810-174226.jpg

Maybe the Dentist Office is my Happy Place??

Last Friday, while waiting in my Dentist Office’s waiting room, I was reading a magazine and realized that it was the first time I had relaxed all week. Yep, it’s been like that lately.

20120810-174238.jpg

Inspiration via my Pintrest board.

I’m feeling really good about wedding planning. Last weekend I got a ton done in Michigan. One thing I got done was my hair and makeup trial! Above is my inspiration picture for my hair. The result was even more amazing and I cannot wait for the day of!

20120810-174304.jpg

Check out this amazing-ness!

Also last weekend? I finally got to see the signage my cousin Megan had been working hard on all summer. I was blown away and it made me that much more excited that the little things are coming together!

I’m proud of myself for all of the work that I’ve done. I’m glad that I stuck to my guns of the things that were important to me (having elements that were very “us,” focusing on the small details, having an overall casual vibe) and glad that I took advice on other areas. (having a seating chart, etiquette, taking help for RSVPs and some of the crafting) Last night, I met with my Day of Coordinator to go over everything for the first time and she was really impressed. She said she couldn’t believe I had done everything I did myself. That made me really proud!

20120810-174250.jpg

This is where our dinner tent will go!

Actually, the closer the day comes the less stressed I’m getting. There still is a lot to do and a lot to think about, but the closer we get to the day the more excited I am getting! I can’t wait to spend that day with Rich and our family and friends, but the most exciting thing for me is that we will finally be married. As much as I know the day will be amazing, I’m more excited for the stuff that will follow after. Cooking dinner at home, going about our daily routine together, spending time fixing up our home and finally being able to relax!!!

20120810-174314.jpg

But of course, there’s still a lot of planning to do!

Someday, this could be us!

With the busyness, I’ve been struggling to fit in workouts lately. I’m doing an ok job, but definitely not as much as I had hoped. I didn’t even think about signing up for any races during this time and I am so glad I did not. One thing that makes me feel better is that we have been taking ballroom dance classes at least twice a week! We have actually gotten really into the classes and have throughly enjoyed them. It’s nice to have an hour or two a week to spend time focusing on each other and spending time together. And, hopefully it will pay off for our first dance!

Despite the fact that I’ve been on the verge of a meltdown quite a few times in the past few months, I think I’ve done a good job of keeping a level head and staying sane. (for Rich, this is probably up for debate) In the end, I think keeping the perspective of remembering what the day is all about. 23 more days!

2 responses to “What I’ve Been Up to

  1. I’m so glad things are coming along well and you are keeping a good attitude about everything! All of your plans sound lovely and I’m sure the actual day willl be amazing!

Leave a comment