If at First You Don’t Succeed…


via Pintrest

Confession #1: the 12 week half marathon training plan I was going to use for the Chi Town Half Marathon on 4/1? Well, the first two weeks were a total bust. I could go on and on about why I failed, but to put it simply life got in the way.

Confession #2: my goal to track every bite I ate every day this month? Well, that lasted 13 days. Not too shabby, but also not meeting my goal. Again, I could go on and on but life got busy and I put these things on the back burner.

Also, incase you hadn’t noticed, Wednesday-Friday of last week? No blogging! No good.

Sunday I decided it was about time to pick myself up and move forward. A week-long slump is ok, but any longer would be hard to pull myself out of. So how did I do it?

First, I researched 10 week half marathon training plans and settled on following this plan loosely. I know my schedule and I know that five days a week is a realistic commitment for me so I’ve decided on the following this weekly schedule: 2 short runs, 1 long run and 2 days of crossing training cardio/strength. If I do a 6th day, I’ll do yoga or spinning class. Simple right?

Second, I went out and ran!

Then I came home and Rich and I prepped our meals for the week. We made hard boiled eggs for breakfast, chopped veggies and made greek yogurt dip for snacks, salads in a jar for lunches and Rich made matzo ball soup. So far, this week has been a breeze!

Chopping insanity!

Salads in a jar!

Today? I tracked my food and workouts on My Fitness Pal. Oh yeah, and I worked out. Day 2/5 so far!

via Pinterest

Word.

9 responses to “If at First You Don’t Succeed…

  1. Hi there! I found your blog from Kim @ ilaxstudio. So excited that you’re training for the Chicago Half Marathon on 4/1! Keep up with your training, and don’t be too hard that it’s been a bit off track the past few weeks!

  2. Pingback: Take Time Tuesday | livehalffull

  3. That sounds like a good plan for the half! And a great start to the week. I love that quote about the other 25 letters… we have to realize that we will not always be able to follow our plans 100%

  4. Agreed! It’s so hard though! I come from the school of good big or go home, nothing is ever good enough, etc. 🙂

  5. I love the salads in a jar. Is it just so you can grab and shake with a little dressing, then serve? Such a great idea, and all of my favorite ingredients look present and accounted for! How was the matzo ball soup?

  6. Pingback: Friday Friends | livehalffull

  7. Pingback: Goals, Revisited | livehalffull

Leave a comment